[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

Please answer a question about something that happened on...

<< Back to: comp.apps.spreadsheets FAQ

Question by ls
Submitted on 6/2/2004
Related FAQ: comp.apps.spreadsheets FAQ
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
Please answer a question about something that happened on the golf course during a tournament match play event between two men's association players.  

They were to play the ball down and use USGA rules.

The match was even going into 18.  One player was walking the other riding a cart.  Both hit their drives and the rider made a comment that his was near the green near bunker and proceeded to drive beyond the walker who was in the middle of fairway but not near bunker.  The rider picked up the ball and looked at it identified it and put it back as if to play that ball. The walker, by then got to his ball and saw another ball and picked it up and then noticed it was the other man's ball mark and said to rider this is your ball and why did you say that ball was yours.   Only until after the opponent told him it was his ball did he then acknowledge that the one he was standing by wasn't his ball that he had identified.  Can the rider even pick up his ball without the walker there to also identify the ball.  The walker never picked up his ball.  The rider picked his ball up many times during the round saying he was checking to see if his and then he would place it neatly on grass.

Before the next shot was made each player had a Gentlemen'sagreement that the rider should not have identified the wrong ball as his and the walker should not have touched the other ball and one washed the other and they then proceeded to hit their shots.  The rider hit his shot 3 feet from hole and the walker hit his 30 feet from hole.  The walker made his 30 foot putt and the rider made his.  They went to clubhouse and the walker assumed the Gentlemen'sagreement was still ok and they were going in to see when to play off the tie and the rider said as entering the building I am going to call the penalty on you for touching my ball.  

If you can make heads or sense of this what would be the ruling?   Thank you so much


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: comp.apps.spreadsheets FAQ

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.