Search the FAQ Archives

3 - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M
N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
faqs.org - Internet FAQ Archives

The RSC/UKSC Cricket FAQ
Section - What's an extra yard of pace?

( Single Page )
[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index | Schools ]


Top Document: The RSC/UKSC Cricket FAQ
Previous Document: Can you be stumped off a no-ball?
Next Document: So how much is a yard of pace equal to in mph?
See reader questions & answers on this topic! - Help others by sharing your knowledge
Yard is a measure of length. Pace is speed. So 
how does an "extra yard of pace" make sense? 

  Contributor(s): Mike Holmans, Jackie Hewitt and others
  The popular explaination that if two bowlers bowl at the same 
  batsman, the ball of the one a yard faster will arrive at the bat 
  whilst the slower bowler's ball is still a yard away is an adequate 
  but not quite completely kosher  explaination. The extra yard
  travelled in the same reaction time is from the keeper's and not 
  batsman's point of view.

Mike Holmans: 
  It refers to how far further back the keeper and slips have to 
  move back in order to feel comfortable about taking the ball. 
  If a bowler had gained a yard of pace, it meant that the 
  keeper found he had to stand a bit further back. If he'd 
  "gained two yards", the keeper was standing a lot further back. 

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA




Top Document: The RSC/UKSC Cricket FAQ
Previous Document: Can you be stumped off a no-ball?
Next Document: So how much is a yard of pace equal to in mph?

Single Page

[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index ]

Send corrections/additions to the FAQ Maintainer:
ganesh1947@bigmailbox.net





Last Update March 27 2014 @ 02:12 PM