[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

What's the difference between an instant that puts a +1/+1...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Austin
Submitted on 12/24/2003
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
What's the difference between an instant that puts a +1/+1 counter on a creature and one that uses "Target creature gets +1/+1"

Answer by magicwizard
Submitted on 1/2/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
An INSTANT that says put a +1/+1 counter on target creature can be played any time and a +1/+1 counter can be removed with something like spike rogue. but if it just gets +1/+1 with an enchant creature,it can only be destroyed.


Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 1/9/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
A +1/+1 counter (or any counter for that matter) is a permanent reminder of a change in power and or toughness. When creatures get counters, they usually stay on the creature and always modify the P/T of that creature.

Effects that say "target creature gets +1/+1" always say "until end of turn" or some other time when the effect ends. These kinds of effects are direct modifications to the creatures power/toughness much like a counter, but dont last forever.

It is important to keep effects that modify the P/T and counters that modify the P/T separate, because of effects like the spikes, or triskelion and such. If you are asked to remove a +1/+1 counter, from something such as a spike weaver, you can only take a counter... if you cast a giant growth on it, that just makes it a 3/3 with 2 +1/+1 counters (5/5), but you can still only take actual counters off.

Also note, that counters are interchangeable ONLY if they are exactly the same type. A +2/+2 counter is not the same as a 2 +1/+1's You also might find it fun to put +1/+1 counters onto things like mishras factory, because after it "unanimates" the counter stays on and applies later if it animates again.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.