[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

Ward Sliver the effect of choose a color all slivers have...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by seth
Submitted on 7/13/2003
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Rate this question: Vote
Ward Sliver the effect of choose a color all
slivers have protection from the chosen
color, does that effect the slivers color
effect on slivers of that color?

Answer by justsomeguyanswering
Submitted on 8/28/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Well, this is a tricky question to answer. My first instinct is to say yes that if a creature has protection from a color then the effects of creatures from that color would not affect it. However i just read that in the case of a world affecting card or whatever they call it, like pestilence, which is a black card, because it affects all creatures, then protection from black doesn't work. I'm not sure that i agree with that either, but using that as a basis, i would say, because it affects all creatures of a certain type that the shared sliver's abilities transcend the color barrier, and take place anyway.


Answer by Gnisram
Submitted on 11/4/2003
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
It does protect the creatures. I bought a pre-constructed deck with pestilence, it also contained a whole bunch of creatures with protection from black as well as some enchantments that bestowed protection from black for a creature


Answer by Rincewind
Submitted on 12/12/2003
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
Realy? Does this mean, that when an opponent uses the ability "Planar Guide" does not affect my creatures with "Protection from white?


Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 12/16/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Protection is worded "protection from xxx", where xxx is some color or creature type, or permanant type. Protection grants you 4 things:

#1: Can not be blocked by XXX creatures.
#2: Can not be enchanted by XXX enchantments.
#3: Can not be targeted by XXX spells and
#4: All damage dealt by XXX sources
    is reduced to 0.

In the case of slivers, they grant abilitys to eachother without targeting for the most part. If you give everything pro-green with a ward sliver, then play a muscle sliver, everything will still get +1/+1 since there is no targeting going on. If you try to use the sliver that says "tap: regenerate target sliver" on a pro-black sliver, that ability can not target the pro black sliver, and so cant even be announced.

Conserning pestilence, that card does not target, and so will try to put damage on pro black creatures, but all that damage will be reduced to 0. This is similar to an earthquake vs pro-red, hurricain vs pro-green etc..

As far as planar guide goes, there is no word "target" in its ability, and so pro-white can do nothing against it, just like pro-white wont stop a wrath of god.


Answer by Sliver Lord
Submitted on 3/11/2005
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
Slivers are unaffected by Ward Sliver's ability of choosing a color because it clearly says on Ward Slivers 'All Sliver have protection from a certain color.

Sincerely Sliver Lord


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.