[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

...binding mean?

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by James
Submitted on 11/16/2003
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Rate this question: Vote
What does binding mean?

Answer by Rincewind
Submitted on 12/12/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Creatures with "binding" may fuse with other creatures. They Strength and toughness are added and they count as one creature. You can bind as many creatures as you want, but only one of theme is allowed to have NO banding. So you can bind 5 creatures with banding and one without, but not more without.

But does anybody knows if a blue or white Enchantment exist, that can give "protection from black and/or red" to all my creatures permanently? It may also be a creature.


Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 12/16/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
I think you are referring to banding, there is no such ability as binding. Banding is pretty much a useless ability left over from the time when magic was almost totally about creature combat... I will just copy and paste the rulebook here if you really want to know.

502.10a - Banding is a static ability that modifies the rules for declaring attackers and assigning combat damage. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10b - As a player declares attackers, he or she may declare that any number of those creatures with banding, and up to one of those creatures without banding, are all in a "band." (Defending players can't declare bands but may use banding in a different way; see Rule 502.10h.) [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10c - A player may declare as many attacking bands as he or she wants, but each creature may be a member of only one of them. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10d - Once an attacking band has been announced, it lasts for the rest of combat, even if something later removes the banding ability from one or more creatures. However, creatures in a band that are removed from combat are also removed from the band. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10e - If an attacking creature becomes blocked by a creature, each other creature in the same band as the attacking creature becomes blocked by that same blocking creature. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Example: A player attacks with a band consisting of a creature with flying and a creature with swampwalk. The defending player, who controls a Swamp, can block the flying creature if able. If he or she does, then the creature with swampwalk will also become blocked by the blocking creature(s). [CompRules 2003/10/01]
502.10f - Banding doesn't cause attacking creatures to share abilities, nor does it remove any abilities. The attacking creatures in a band are separate permanents. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10g - If one member of a band would become blocked due to an effect, the entire band becomes blocked. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10h - A player who controls an attacking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures blocking that creature. A player who controls a blocking creature with banding chooses how combat damage is assigned by creatures it blocks. If the creature had banding when it attacked or blocked, but the ability was removed before the combat damage step, damage is assigned normally. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
502.10i - Multiple instances of banding on the same creature are redundant. [CompRules 2003/07/01]


Answer by kurac-palac
Submitted on 3/10/2005
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
a jeste glupi u picku materinu


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.