[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

can u play artifactcreature triggered ability right when it...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by crusadermil
Submitted on 6/28/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
can u play artifactcreature triggered ability right when it comes out seeing how u can play a artifacts triggered ability when it comes out

Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 7/16/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
I'm not exactly sure if you are talking about triggered abilities. A triggered ability is one that says "When or Whenever something happens, do something." A triggered ability only is "played" when that statement becomes true.

I think you might be talking about ACTIVATED abilities. Activated abilities are ones that dont do anything until you, the player decides to activate them by playing its cost(s).

For example.... Horn of greed is an artifact that has a triggered ability, it doesn't do anything until you play a land, at that time you play the triggered ability, and draw your card.

Icy Manipulator... you play the artifact and it just sits there until you play its activated ability, and then tap something.

So if your talking about activated abilities of artifact creatures, no you cant play them unless they don't have the tap symbol in them. If the ability of an artifact creature doese have the tap symbol it in, then you cant play it until it doesn't have summoning sickness. Any type of card that is a creature as well as some other type, Artifact Creature, Enchantment Creature, Land Creature, cant attack or use abilities that have the tap symbol until it has been under your control continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.