[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

...a charge counter?

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Zidane
Submitted on 6/11/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
What is a charge counter?

Answer by Sasuke
Submitted on 7/5/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
A "counter" is a general term used to describe a way to keep track of a number. Usually people use things like coins, stones, dice, etc to track how many of these "counters" there are on a certain card. Each counter has a name associated with it. A card could have a charge counter on it, a +1/+1 counter, a -2/-1 counter, and a gold counter. All these names reference some outside ability or adjustment to power/toughness. In your question, you might be referring to a card that uses a charge counter in some way. Most cards that use charge counters will tell you what exactly will happen if you have a certain number of counters.

Take Chalice of the Void. If you have a Chalice with 3 charge counters on it, those counters reference the ability of the Chalice, which will check the # of counters to counter or not counter a spell. If somehow you got a counter of a different name onto a chalice, it wouldnt do anything to that ability, because of the specific name of the counter must be "charge".


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.