[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

When you want to kill another player's creature what do you...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Kuj
Submitted on 8/9/2003
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Rate this question: Vote
When you want to kill another player's creature what do you attack his defensive points or offensive points?

Answer by Gronath
Submitted on 8/24/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
It's defensive points.


Answer by alphetto vulture
Submitted on 8/28/2003
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
no u can't attack a monster. You have to attack the player, unless the monster has trample.


Answer by justsomeguyanswering
Submitted on 8/28/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Whoa!!! no offense to anyone who post on this site, but i have not bought a starter deck in a looong time. i am an old school player i got into the game when it first started. i have to ask though. don't they give players the rule books anymore??? i mean you people are asking questions that are about simple game play that should be covered when you buy a starter deck. When two creatures battle. The attack value from both creatures is compared to the defensive value of the other, for instance, a 2/3 creature and a 3/3 creature. the 2 on the first creature is it's attack value, this creature does 2 points of damage to the 3/3 creature. the 3/3 creature does not die, because at least 3 points of damage must be done in order to kill it. however it does in turn 3 points of damage back to the 2/3 creature. because the 3 points of damage matches the 3 points of defense that the 2/3 creature has, the 2/3 creature dies. However, you may not attack an opponents creatures, you simply declare an attack on your opponent, and they decide whether or not to block the attack with their creature. Trample does not give the ability to attack your opponents creatures. The effect trample has is to let any excess damage from the attacking creature, above and beyond what was necessary to kill any blocking creatures to be carried over and applied to the defending players life total.


Answer by TimmoWarner
Submitted on 2/7/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
They don't give you rulebooks in the starters anymore, but then, they aren't called starter decks anymore either. They're tournament packs.

But, you can by a special edition made for learning how to play that come with a basic rulebook and walk you through the first game with the two simple decks it comes with.

What I don't understand is why people would post a question here rather than using the Internet to find a copy of the rules. They're available on the official Magic site.


Answer by p.d.s
Submitted on 11/14/2006
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
wot u all on about


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.