[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

...trample and haste mean?and when on the card says...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by aharhistul
Submitted on 5/11/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
what does trample and haste mean?and when on the card says "destroy target artifact"does it also mean destroy artifact creature or land?

Answer by Buzz Topaz
Submitted on 5/18/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Okay. Trample is an ability that allows your creature to do it's access damage to the controller of the creature that blocked it. For example. If I attack you with a 5/5 trampler and you block with a 3/3, usually the extra 2 doesn't matter, right? In this case, however, that extra 2 damage would directly hit you, and your life total reduced by 2.

Haste means that your creature is unaffected by summoning sickness. This means your creature can attack as soon as it comes out if you want it to. This also means that you can use any of its abilities that require it to tap in its activation cost. For example, the Royal Assassin says ' [tap]: Destroy target tapped creature'. If it was given haste, and there was a creature in play tapped, then you could tap your royal assassin and kill it as soon as he comes into play.

Now for your third question. If your card says '[tap] Destroy target artifact, this means you can destroy any artifact in play. It doesn't matter if it's a creature, or a land, or just a regular old artifact. An artifact's an artifact, and you get to destroy it.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.