[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

Im kinda curious about the new darksteel card eater of days...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Justaguyaskingaquestion
Submitted on 4/18/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
Im kinda curious about the new darksteel card eater of days and the mirrodin card damping matrix... Damping matrix makes all activated abilities not count and if playing eater of days, I wanted to know if damping matrix wouldn't let it's "when eater of days comes into play you lose you next two turns" ability would be cancelled due to the damping matrix's effect? Also is that ability an activated ability?

Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 4/20/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
No, it is a triggered ability. Triggered abilities wait until something happens, then "trigger" and go on the stack. Activated abilities are those that you have to do something to make work. Like tap something, pay something, sac something.. etc. Activated abilities use the template [cost:effect] like (T: Draw a card) The tapping is to the left of the colon, and so is done on announcement, and to the right of the colon is the effect that happens on resolution.
Triggered abilities are worded like "WHEN something happens" or "Whenever something happens" DO something else. Like WHEN eater comes into play, skip 2 turns.
Sorry but the matrix will not stop triggered abilities, or static abilities. It will also not stop abilities that are used when the creature is just a card out of play.

Try a card like Stifle, that can counter a triggered ability.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.