[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

If a card say pay 2 mana and regenerate target creature" ...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by xingthebling
Submitted on 3/24/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
If a card say
pay 2 mana and regenerate target creature"
can i regenerate a creature from my graveyard?

Answer by shakilo
Submitted on 3/27/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
You can only regenerate a creature from a graveyard the same turn it was sent there. For example say your opponent attacks with a 2\3. If you block it with a 1\1 creature that has regeneration you can only regenerate your 1\1 the same turn you blocked with it.


Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 4/7/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
This isnt exactly true. Regeneration is what we call a Replacement Effect. In this case, regeneration replaces a DESTRUCTION event. You dont ever put the creature into the graveyard at all. Regeneration sometimes gets tricky because it uses a "shield" type of effect. Any time you want you can activate a creatures regeneration ability. This effectively puts a shield up around your creature that says "If this would get destroyed instead remove it from combat and tap it". If the creature does not take lethal damage or get destroyed by something (like Oblivion Stone) by the end of turn, the shield goes away.

Also note that a "creature" can only exist "in play", in your graveyard it is considered a "creature card", so any effect that says 'Do something to <Creature>' only work when it is in play. To work in any other zone, abilities will state they do. (see Eternal Dragon, Elvish Spirit Guide)


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.