[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

Does protection from creatures mean that even if it is block...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Bob Bee
Submitted on 7/25/2003
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Rate this question: Vote
Does protection from creatures mean that even if it is block it cannot be destroyed unless you use a spell

Answer by Gronath
Submitted on 8/24/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Protection (from colors and so on) works like this. The creature with protection suffers no damage in combat from a creature it blocks from a specific color. Besides, it can't be blocked from any creature from a color it has protection from. I.e., you have a White Knight (white creature, 2/2, first strike, protection from black) and I have a black creature, say Shimian Night Stalker (black creature, 4/4, ignore it's ability for now). If I attack with Night Stalker you can block it with your knight and even if stalker's attack power is twice as great as the knight's toughness it'll suffer no damage from combat because of it's protection from black. Now say we have the opposite situation. You attack with the White Knight. I can't block with any black creatures (unless anything else alters this) because the knight has protection from black with too prevents it from being blocked by black creatures. Still it can't be target of any black spells or effects even if it's for the best (power-ups). The only exception is global effects/damage. For example, say I have Pestilence in game (short-> B: Does one point of damage to each player and creature.) Since this is a global effect the knight's protection from black won't prevent it.


Answer by Joseph
Submitted on 9/26/2003
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
If it has protection from creatures it cant be blocked by creatures, just like if it had protection from blue.. a blue creature couldnt block it.


Answer by electro
Submitted on 12/1/2003
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
if a creature has protection for something(say protection from red) then red creature and spells cannot deal damage to it. so if a 1/1 creature with protection from red blocks a 6/6 trained orc then all damage is blocked and your creature comes out unscathed.


Answer by princes soul
Submitted on 2/7/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
what happens if it has trample would the damage still effect the creature that has protection from the trample creature and deal damage to u.

also what if u block a thorn elemntal with somthing that has protection from green would the thorn elementals effect go through.


Answer by Halfelf
Submitted on 2/26/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
The creature with trample will still have to assign enough damage to the creature to kill it, even if it doesn't die. The rest of the damage would be assigned to the opponent. And the thorn elemental would activate, as it only requires the creature to be blocked, not deal damage.


Answer by justin
Submitted on 8/19/2005
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
say I have a creature with protection from creatures, if i reassign damage to it using a cleric (from a creature source) will it be damaged?


Answer by Runn
Submitted on 12/13/2005
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
Keep in mind that if a creature is blocked, neither having protection from each other, and then an effect gives the attacker protection from the blocking creature it is still a legal block, as the block was declared before protection happened. In this case, any damage from that source to the creature is reduced to 0, etc. etc.


Answer by pwnzors
Submitted on 2/22/2007
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
What if you have a creature who is multi colored, say red and white 2/2 and i attack my friend and he blocks with his 1/1 protection from red creature does it die or is the damage just annuled?


Answer by FAVUQUAD
Submitted on 6/19/2007
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.