[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

...phasing mean?

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by roseman
Submitted on 2/16/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Rate this question: Vote
what does phasing mean?

Answer by MillMaster
Submitted on 3/16/2004
Rating:  Rate this answer: Vote
Phasing is an ability from the mirage block that causes a permanent to leave play and enter the "phased out" zone. Unlike when something is just removed from the game, when something phases out it remembers game state information, like counters and such. It also keeps enchantments and equipment that are attached to it.

At the beginning of your untap phase, any cards that have the phasing ability phase out (are moved from the in play zone to the phased out zone), and any cards that are phased out will phase back into play.

Cards that have "comes into play" abilities will NOT trigger when phasing into play. But cards that have "leaves play" abilities WILL trigger when they phase out.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.