[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

    Search the Q&A Archives

This question sort of is 2 in 1. If (lets say) at 10/6 with...

<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

Question by Greg
Submitted on 2/16/2004
Related FAQ: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this question: Vote
This question sort of is 2 in 1.  If (lets say) at 10/6 with trample attacks.  Can you have more than 1 creature block it?

If you may have a number of creatures block this 10/6 with trample, does the trample damage add up from each creature you blocked with?

In other words, if i blocked with two 4/4's, would it do 6 trample, (10-4) or 12 trample, (10-4)+(10-4).

This might sound confusing, but I would really like an answer to this.


Answer by Halfelf
Submitted on 2/26/2004
Rating: Not yet rated Rate this answer: Vote
Yes, you can have more than one creature block another creature. The damage does not add up as you explain it, however; you can only assign an amount of damage total equal to the power of your attacking creature. In your case, you can choose to deal 4 damage to each creature, and then 2 damage to your opponent. Your creature and their creatures would all die. Note that you cannot assign any damage to your opponent until each blocking creature has been dealt lethal damage.


Your answer will be published for anyone to see and rate.  Your answer will not be displayed immediately.  If you'd like to get expert points and benefit from positive ratings, please create a new account or login into an existing account below.

Your name or nickname:
If you'd like to create a new account or access your existing account, put in your password here:
Your answer:

FAQS.ORG reserves the right to edit your answer as to improve its clarity.  By submitting your answer you authorize FAQS.ORG to publish your answer on the WWW without any restrictions. You agree to hold harmless and indemnify FAQS.ORG against any claims, costs, or damages resulting from publishing your answer.


FAQS.ORG makes no guarantees as to the accuracy of the posts. Each post is the personal opinion of the poster. These posts are not intended to substitute for medical, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. FAQS.ORG does not endorse any opinion or any product or service mentioned mentioned in these posts.


<< Back to: Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v4.02 (part 1)

[ Home  |  FAQ-Related Q&As  |  General Q&As  |  Answered Questions ]

© 2008 FAQS.ORG. All rights reserved.