Search the FAQ Archives

3 - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M
N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
faqs.org - Internet FAQ Archives

soc.culture.jewish.parenting FAQ: Newsgroup Policies and Procedures
Section - 1.3. How did soc.culture.jewish.parenting get started?

( Single Page )
[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index | Zip codes ]


Top Document: soc.culture.jewish.parenting FAQ: Newsgroup Policies and Procedures
Previous Document: 1.2. What is the charter for soc.culture.jewish.parenting?
Next Document: 1.4. What topics are appropriate for soc.culture.jewish.parenting?
See reader questions & answers on this topic! - Help others by sharing your knowledge

S.C.J.P is the product of a small group of individuals who realized the need
for the newsgroup during discussions on misc.kids around March 1995. Calls to
establish a planning committee occurred around that time; the final planning
committee consisted of the following individuals:

	Alpert, Tom <talpert@aol.com>
	Faigin, Daniel <faigin@pacificnet.net>
	Harwood, Amy Uhrbach <amydane@world.std.com>
	Herrera, Andrea <andreah@utj.org>
	Karlovsky, Gail <gail.karlovsky@att.com>
	Kozierok, Robyn <robyn@ai.mit.edu>
	Murphy, Layne <laynemurph@aol.com>
	Peskin, Marjorie <mpeskin@lynx.dac.neu.edu>
	Pitesky, Jo <pitesky@mira.ASTRO.Ucla.EDU>
	Rand, Michael <mrand@dorsai.dorsai.org>
	Rifas, Shari <sfr2@hooked.net>
	Salkin, Nina <ninasalk@aol.com>
	Shulman, Sherri <sherri@cse.ogi.edu>
	Stillinger, Connie <cas@ockham.stanford.edu>
	Weintraub, Steve <stevenw@pswtech.com>

Kate Gregory <xtkmg@trentu.ca> served as the news.groups mentor for the
planning committee. During the official discussion periods, Daniel Faigin
maintained the FAQ and official documents, and developed the random moderation
perl script.

In June and July 1995, discussions took place on misc.kids to finalize the
group's name and fine tune the RFD. This culminated in a straw poll to
determine the final name. In August 1995, the official RFD was posted to
news.groups. The usual discussion took place, and the Call for Votes was
issued on September 3, 1995. Voting concluded on September 26, 1995, with the
following results:

  There were 348 YES votes and 28 NO votes, for a total of 376 valid votes.
  There were 2 abstains and 9 invalid ballots.


User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA




Top Document: soc.culture.jewish.parenting FAQ: Newsgroup Policies and Procedures
Previous Document: 1.2. What is the charter for soc.culture.jewish.parenting?
Next Document: 1.4. What topics are appropriate for soc.culture.jewish.parenting?

Single Page

[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index ]

Send corrections/additions to the FAQ Maintainer:
SCJ FAQ Maintainer <maintainer@scjfaq.org>





Last Update March 27 2014 @ 02:11 PM