Search the FAQ Archives

3 - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M
N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
faqs.org - Internet FAQ Archives

soc.culture.jewish FAQ: Observance, Marriage, Women in Judaism (4/12)
Section - Question 6.18: Are there parts of a kosher animal that cannot be eaten?

( Single Page )
[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index | Cities ]


Top Document: soc.culture.jewish FAQ: Observance, Marriage, Women in Judaism (4/12)
Previous Document: Question 6.17: Must Jews use wine?
Next Document: Question 6.19: I have a friend coming over that keeps Kosher. What do I do?
See reader questions & answers on this topic! - Help others by sharing your knowledge

                                  Answer:
   
   Certain parts are listed as being prohibited, such as the fat of and
   by the tail, the fat on the kidneys, the sinew that surrounds the
   sciatic nerve, and the blood that was in veins or arteries at the time
   of death. [Note that blood found within tissues, and is clearly not
   within a part of the circulatory system, is kosher.] Kidneys are
   generally considered non-kosher, as there is no way to get all the
   non-kosher blood out of them. Brain is kosher, as are sweet-breads
   (thymus or pancreas).
   
   The thigh is generally not eaten in the US, as it is not cost
   effective to remove all the branches of the prohibited tendon. We sell
   that part of the cow to the non-kosher market.

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA




Top Document: soc.culture.jewish FAQ: Observance, Marriage, Women in Judaism (4/12)
Previous Document: Question 6.17: Must Jews use wine?
Next Document: Question 6.19: I have a friend coming over that keeps Kosher. What do I do?

Single Page

[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index ]

Send corrections/additions to the FAQ Maintainer:
SCJ FAQ Maintainer <maintainer@scjfaq.org>





Last Update March 27 2014 @ 02:11 PM