Search the FAQ Archives

3 - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M
N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
faqs.org - Internet FAQ Archives

Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, v5.10 (part 1)

( Part1 - Part2 - Part3 - Part4 - Part5 - Part6 - MultiPage )
[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index | Neighborhoods ]
Archive-name: games/magic-t-g/rules/part1
Posting-Frequency: About every 5 days
URL: http://www.daeghnao.com/magic/faq/

See reader questions & answers on this topic! - Help others by sharing your knowledge
============================================================
  Welcome to the FAQ for rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules
============================================================

   Last Modified: 22nd May 2011

   By Zoe Stephenson (mtgfaq@daeghnao.com) based on previous versions from:
   Patrik Linell, Laurie Cheers, Bill Dugan.

   Copyright (c) 2011 Zoe Stephenson. All rights reserved. This article is
   freely distributable except that it may not be sold nor included in any
   compilation (book, magazine, disk, CD-ROM, or otherwise) which is for
   sale, without the express written consent of the author.

URL: http://www.daeghnao.com/magic/faq/

Recent Changes:
--------------

   version 5.00: Complete overhaul for Magic 2010 rules.
   version 5.10: Complete up to New Phyrexia; fixed stray tabs.


Subject: 1.0: Introduction 1.0.01 Notation: ------ Magic uses distinctive symbols for mana of various colors and for self-tap costs. To represent these symbols in text, the following conventions are used: G: One green mana R: One red mana W: One white mana B: One black mana U: One blue mana S: One mana from a snow source T: The tap symbol Q: The untap symbol 1: One generic or colorless mana - and so on for 2,3,4... X,Y,Z: The symbols for variable mana costs Note the use of B for Black and U for blUe. These symbols are combined in the same way as on the cards. So, Seething Song produces RRRRR; Savra, Queen of the Golgari costs 2BG; Vitu-Ghazi, the City-Tree's ability costs 2GW, T. Often the symbols are written within braces (e.g. {2}{G}{W}) to emphasise that they represent the symbols on the cards. This is especially useful for split-mana symbols (e.g. {R/G}{R/G} on the Guildpact card Gruul Guildmage) and for Phyrexian costs ("phybrid" costs) such as "Phyrexian Red" {R/P}. 1.0.02 Structure: ------ This FAQ is divided into three parts, each with a different focus. This introduction is attached to the first part. Part 1: The first part deals with newcomers to the game. There are a few very common types of question that new players often need answers to; this part tries to answer them. The questions are phrased in very general terms, so you may have to read through to find an answer. The first part also contains important information about posting to the newsgroup and other places to find answers. Part 2: The second part deals with players returning to the game or only playing now and again. Returning players will often need to know what has changed, so this part lists major changes to the rules and the cards. Part 3: The third part deals with complex situations for which the outcome is unintuitive or for which the outcome has changed because of rules changes. This goes into some depth and assumes familiarity with the rulebook.
Subject: 1.1: Beginner Questions 1.1.01: How do I know what's a target and what's not? ------ Any spell or ability can have any number of targets. Look through the text for the word target. It can be used in several ways; look for where it's used in front of a noun, rather than as a noun itself or as a verb. Some examples: Shock {R} Instant / Shock deals 2 damage to target creature or player. Shock has one target. The word "target" is used in front of the phrase "creature or player" to indicate that the creature or player is the target. Deflection {3}{U} Instant / Change the target of target spell with a single target. Deflection has only one target. The word "target" is used in front of the phrase "spell with a single target" to indicate that the spell-with-a-single-target is the target. The first use of the word "target" is used as a noun, to say what to change. Radiate {3}{R}{R} Instant / Choose target instant or sorcery spell that targets only a single permanent or player. Copy that spell for each other permanent or player the spell could target. Each copy targets a different one of those permanents and players. Radiate has only one target. The word "target" is used in front of the phrase "instant or sorcery spell that targets only a single permanent or player" to indicate that that instant or sorcery spell is the target. The first use of the word "target" is like an adjective, the other uses are as verbs. Each use of the word "target" to denote targets requires the right number of different targets. Hex {4}{B}{B} Sorcery / Destroy six target creatures. Hex targets six creatures. It's not legal to target a creature more than once in this way. It has to be six different creatures. If the word "target" is used again to denote targets, the same target can be chosen as for a previous use of the word "target" to denote targets. Decimate {2}{R}{G} Sorcery / Destroy target artifact, target creature, target enchantment, and target land. Decimate has four targets. Each has its own use of the word "target". If there were one permanent on the battlefield that's an artifact, a creature, an enchantment and a land all at once, then Decimate could target that one permanent four times. It would only be destroyed once, though. When you cast an Aura from your hand, you target whatever it's going to enchant. Here, the word target won't appear in the main part of the text; it's implied by the enchant ability: Holy Strength {W} Enchantment - Aura / Enchant creature / Enchanted creature gets +1/+2. The last thing the Holy Strength does when it resolves is to put itself onto the battlefield attached to whatever creature it was targeting. Once it does so, it stops targeting the creature. If something later stops spells and abilities from targeting the creature, this doesn't affect the Holy Strength. The reference to "enchanted creature" (and the similar phrases "equipped creature" and "fortified land") doesn't target the creature. Another example: Firebreathing {R} Enchantment - Aura / Enchant creature / {R}: Enchanted creature gets +1/+0 until end of turn. When you cast Firebreathing, it targets the creature it's going to enchant. When you activate the ability of Firebreathing, it doesn't target the creature it enchants. Even if the creature enchanted by Firebreathing can't be the target of spells or abilities any more, Firebreathing's activated ability can still affect it. Some spells and abilities look like they ought to target, but don't actually target. For example: Clone {3}{U} Creature - Shapeshifter 0/0 / You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield. Clone can copy a creature that can't be the target of spells or abilities. At the point where you choose a creature on the battlefield, the word target isn't used, so you choose without targeting. Many spells and abilities affect things without using the word target: Hurricane {X}{G} Sorcery / Hurricane deals X damage to each creature with flying and each player. Hurricane can deal damage to a creature that can't be targeted, as long as the creature has flying. It can also deal damage to a player even if that player can't be the target of spells or abilities. Wrath of God {2}{W}{W} Sorcery / Destroy all creatures. They can't be regenerated. Wrath of God will destroy creatures even if those creatures can't be targeted. It refers to all creatures; it doesn't use the word "target", so it doesn't target. 1.1.02: What things will stop me from targeting? ------ There are two things that stop targeting. One is simply static abilities that state outright that the targeting isn't allowed: Troll Ascetic {1}{G}{G} Creature - Troll Shaman 3/2 / Troll Ascetic can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. / {1}{G}: Regenerate Troll Ascetic. This kind of ability is common enough that its simple form has its own name, "shroud": Deadly Insect {4}{G} Creature - Insect 6/1 / Shroud (This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities.) The other ability that can prevent targeting is protection. 1.1.03: So what is protection? ------ Protection is a static ability that's usually found on creatures and usually confers protection from a particular color. Protection actually does four related things, all bundled up into a neat package. Let's take the example of a Hand of Cruelty: Hand of Cruelty {B}{B} Creature - Human Samurai 2/2 / Protection from white / Bushido 1 (When this blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn.) The first part of protection says to prevent all damage dealt to the Hand of Cruelty from a white source. So, if it blocks a white creature, the combat damage to the Hand of Cruelty is prevented. The second part is that the Hand of Cruelty can't be enchanted or equipped by white Auras and Equipment. If a white Aura ends up on a creature with protection from white (this isn't straightforward, but can sometimes happen) then it goes to its owner's graveyard. Thirdly, white creatures can't block the Hand of Cruelty. It blazes a trail right on by. Lastly, the Hand of Cruelty can't be the target of white spells or abilities from white sources. It can be affected by untargeted white spells and untargeted abilities from white sources, but it can't be named as the target of a white spell or of an ability from a white source. So, the Wrath of God from the first question will destroy a Hand of Cruelty. However, something like Condemn can't target the Hand of Cruelty: Condemn {W} Instant / Put target attacking creature on the bottom of its owner's library. Its controller gains life equal to its toughness. 1.1.04: How do I stop someone being able to pay for an ability? ------ Generally, you can't. The timing rules prevent one player from interfering when another player is announcing a spell or ability, and this is when the costs are paid. You won't get a chance to respond until after the costs are paid. Read the text of the spell or ability carefully to identify the cost and the effect. On a spell, the cost is the mana symbols in the top right, plus any additional costs listed in the spell text: Fling {1}{R} Instant / As an additional cost to cast Fling, sacrifice a creature. / Fling deals damage equal to the sacrificed creature's power to target creature or player. The cost to cast Fling is to pay one point of mana of any color, one point of red mana, and sacrifice a creature. The effect is the Fling dealing the damage. For an activated ability, the cost is on the left of the colon (:) and the effect is on the right: Blood Rites {3}{R}{R} Enchantment / {1}{R}, Sacrifice a creature: Blood Rites deals 2 damage to target creature or player. The ability of Blood Rites has a cost of one point of mana of any color, one point of red mana, and sacrifice a creature. The effect is the Blood Rites dealing the damage. In both of these examples, the sacrifice happens when the spell or ability is played, and during this time no other spell or ability can be announced. So, it's not possible to step in and interfere with the payment. Even if the opponent has priority and tries to interfere with a possible Fling by casting a spell to destroy the creature that's intended for the sacrifice, the Fling can be cast in response to that spell. 1.1.05: How does stuff like 'non-black' work? ------ This can be confusing at first, as color attributes can have multiple values. The key here is to consider the colors independently. So, asking whether a creature is non-black is the same as asking whether the creature is black, and then inverting the answer. This is totally independent of whether the creature is white, blue, red or green. Here are some example comparisons that demonstrate this reasoning: - Doom Blade vs. Scathe Zombies Doom Blade {1}{B} Instant / Destroy target nonblack creature. Scathe Zombies {2}{B} Creature - Zombie 2/2 This is simple: the Scathe Zombies are black, so not a legal target for the Doom Blade. - Doom Blade vs. Moroii Moroii {2}{U}{B} Creature - Vampire 4/4 / Flying / At the beginning of your upkeep, you lose 1 life. The Moroii is black, as it has a {B} in its mana cost. This means that it can't be nonblack, so Doom Blade can't target it. Remember that the check for being black, or being nonblack, doesn't look at the {U} in the Moroii's cost, just the {B}. - Doom Blade vs. Shrieking Grotesque Shrieking Grotesque {2}{W} Creature - Gargoyle 2/1 / Flying / When Shrieking Grotesque enters the battlefield, if {B} was spent to cast Shrieking Grotesque, target player discards a card. Even though Shrieking Grotesque was likely cast by spending at least one point of black mana, it doesn't have {B} in its cost, and therefore is not black. Doom Blade can target the Shrieking Grotesque just fine. 1.1.06: What counts as a Mountain? ------ There are 11 cards that count as a Mountain. They all have the land type Mountain on their type lines in Oracle. Here's the full list: Badlands Land - Mountain Swamp Plateau Land - Plains Mountain Taiga Land - Mountain Forest Volcanic Island Land - Island Mountain Steam Vents Land - Island Mountain / As Steam Vents enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, Steam Vent enters the battlefield tapped instead. Blood Crypt Land - Swamp Mountain / As Blood Crypt enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, Blood Crypt enters the battlefield tapped instead. Stomping Ground Land - Mountain Forest / As Stomping Ground enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, Stomping Ground enters the battlefield tapped instead. Sacred Foundry Land - Mountain Plains / As Sacred Foundry enters the battlefield, you may pay 2 life. If you don't, Sacred Foundry enters the battlefield tapped instead. Mountain Basic Land - Mountain Snow-Covered Mountain Basic Snow Land - Mountain Madblind Mountain Land - Mountain / Madblind Mountain enters the battlefield tapped. / {R}, {T}: Shuffle your library. Activate this ability only if you control two or more red permanents. Nothing else counts as a Mountain, even if it happens to produce red mana. One must be careful to distinguish between effects that specify a basic land and effects that specify a Mountain. The only basic lands are named Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, Swamp and their snow-covered variants. Compare: Rampant Growth {1}{G} Sorcery / Search your library for a basic land card and put that card into play tapped. Then shuffle your library. This can get a card called Mountain or Snow-Covered Mountain, or any of the other 8 basic land cards, but it can't fetch a Volcanic Island or a Steam Vents. Those lands are not basic, even though they have basic land types on them. Chartooth Cougar {5}{R} Creature - Cat Beast 4/4 / {R}: Chartooth Cougar gets +1/+0 until end of turn. / Mountaincycling {2} ({2}, Discard this card: Search your library for a Mountain card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.) The Mountaincycling ability can get any of the Mountains listed together above, but it can't get an Island, a Forest, a Plains or a Swamp that isn't also a Mountain. The Mountaincycling ability doesn't specify that the Mountain needs to also be basic, so it's not restricted to only basic Mountains. 1.1.07: How do I know what a card refers to when it uses a card name? ------ There are two ways in which a card uses a card name. The card Squadron Hawk uses both ways: Squadron Hawk {1}{W} Creature - Bird 1/1 / Flying / When Squadron Hawk enters the battlefield, you may search your library for up to three cards named Squadron Hawk, reveal them, put them into your hand, then shuffle your library. The first usage is in "When Squadron Hawk enters the battlefield". When a card refers to its own name this way, it means that actual card itself. It doesn't mean any other Squadron Hawks that may enter in the future. The second usage is "up to three cards named Squadron Hawk," and this usage is always written "a card named..." or "cards named..." It refers to any cards with that name. If ability text is granted by another permanent, that permanent can refer back to itself (and only itself) by using its own name: Saproling Burst {4}{G} Enchantment / Fading 7 (This enchantment enters the battlefield with seven fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can't, sacrifice it.) / Remove a fade counter from Saproling Burst: Put a green Saproling creature token onto the battlefield. It has "This creature's power and toughness are each equal to the number of fade counters on Saproling Burst." / When Saproling Burst leaves the battlefield, destroy all tokens put onto the battlefield with Saproling Burst. They can't be regenerated. The tokens made by a Saproling Burst aren't affected by a second Saproling Burst, for example. If a permanent gains ability text from elsewhere that contains a reference to the host permanent, the reference is updated to the new permanent: Quicksilver Elemental {3}{U}{U} Creature - Elemental 3/4 / {U}: Quicksilver Elemental gains all activated abilities of target creature until end of turn. (If any of the abilities use that creature's name, use this creature's name instead.) / You may spend blue mana as though it were mana of any color to pay the activation costs of Quicksilver Elemental's abilities. Imagine Quicksilver Elemental gains the activated abilities of Shivan Dragon: Shivan Dragon {4}{R}{R} Creature - Dragon 5/5 Flying {R}: Shivan Dragon gets +1/+0 until end of turn. Then the gained ability costs {R} to activate but {U} can be spent as {R} to pay for it. Note also that the Quicksilver Elemental can only gain activated abilities, so it won't get the Shivan Dragon's flying. 1.1.08: Can you tap a tapped creature? Untap one that's untapped? ------ This isn't possible for the purposes of paying a cost. A permanent has to actually go from the untapped status to the tapped status to pay a tap cost. In an effect, however, the rules are different. An effect tries its best to do as much as it can, and ignores impossible or contradictory instructions. This means that an effect that instructs a player to untap a creature will simply be ignored if the creature is already untapped at that point. Note that the situation is very different if the targeting specification calls for a tapped creature: Royal Assassin {1}{B}{B} Creature - Human Assassin 1/1 / {T}: Destroy target tapped creature. Read the effect carefully to distinguish which parts are the targeting specification, which parts are the cost and which parts are the effect. The targeting specification must be met when you play the spell AND when it resolves, and the costs must be paid in full, but the effect is allowed to skip impossible parts. 1.1.09: When can I sacrifice a creature? Discard a card? ------ Only when an effect or a game rule tells you to. You can't just sacrifice a creature or discard a card whenever you wish. There has to be something to cause you to do so. There are some rules that make things go to the graveyard automatically, but they generally won't get invoked unless specific situations occur: - A creature with toughness 0 or less is put into its owner's graveyard. - A creature with lethal damage, but greater than 0 toughness, is destroyed. - An Aura attached to something illegal, or not attached to anything, is put into its owner's graveyard. - If two or more legendary permanents with the same name are on the battlefield, all are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the "legend rule." - Similarly for two or more planeswalkers on the battlefield with the same planeswalker type, they all go to the graveyard. - If two or more permanents have the supertype world, all except the one that has been a permanent with the world supertype on the battlefield for the shortest amount of time are put into their owners' graveyards, regardless of name. - At the beginning of the cleanup step (after the end step, in the ending phase) if the active player has more cards in hand than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven) then he or she discards down to that maximum hand size. 1.1.10: How do I tell which end-of-turn things can carry onto the next turn? ------ There are two different ways in which cards refer to the end of turn. One is to specify a duration that lasts "until end of turn". These durations wear off in the cleanup step of the ending phase, at the same time that damage is removed from creatures. There is no way to get an "until end of turn" duration to last into the next turn. If players get priority to play spells or abilities during cleanup (not usual, but not impossible to achieve) then the game automatically adds another cleanup step before the next turn, and any durations that were set up to last until end of turn during the first cleanup step will end in the second; you will also have to check for maximum hand size again. The other way in which cards refer to the end of turn is to trigger at the beginning of the end step. This is literally with the phrases "at the beginning of the end step" or "at the beginning of the next end step". The beginning of the end step only happens once a turn, so these triggered abilities only trigger once a turn. It is possible for a triggered ability to be set up to wait for the beginning of the end step during an end step. The delayed triggered ability will wait around for the next turn's end step before it triggers. Players often say "at the end of your turn, I..." to indicate playing a spell or ability in a player's end step. 1.1.11: What's the point of turning something into a creature just for a turn? ------ On the first turn that a creature is on the battlefield, it can't attack, and none of its activated abilities that have the {T} or {Q} symbol in their cost can be activated. This condition is informally known as "summoning sickness". There are only two things to look for to determine whether a permanent suffers from summoning sickness: - is the permanent currently a creature? If so, then it may suffer from summoning sickness and be unable to attack or have its activated abilities with a {T} or {Q} in the cost activated. If not, then summoning sickness cannot apply. - was the permanent (in whatever form) continuously under its current controller's control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn? If not, then the creature is sick and it is unable to attack or have its activated abilities with a {T} or {Q} in the cost activated. So, turning a permanent into a creature will allow the permanent to attack, as long as the permanent (in whatever form) was continuously under its controller's control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn. 1.1.12: What order do I do things in when I cast a spell / activate an ability? ------ - Casting a spell means taking the spell card and putting it on the stack, and going through all the steps of announcing a spell or ability: - Some spells use the phrase "choose one - " on them. Make this choice first. - Some spells have additional, alternative or variable costs. Choose which costs to pay. - For the choices made so far, there will be a certain number of targets required. Choose those next. - If the spell affects different targets differently or distributes its effect, make those choices. - Determine the total cost of the spell, making sure to add costs first, then apply discounts afterwards. - If you need mana, you can now activate mana abilities to get the mana for the spell. - Now pay the cost of the spell. - The spell is now played. If the player had priority when the spell was announced, that player gets priority back. If you have leftover mana, you have to announce what's left at this point. Activating an ability is similar, except that you use the activation cost instead of the mana cost. - Some spells and abilities copy a spell. The copy is put onto the top of the stack. Unless otherwise specified, it reuses all of the choices that were made for the spell it's copying. The copy doesn't go through the steps again. Various effects deal with playing cards from unusual places. In general, there are two different ways these work: - Static abilities or resolving spells or abilities with continuous effects can state that a card that isn't in a player's hand may be played. These effects always specify a duration during which the effect applies. They add the card to the set of cards that may be played using the normal system of priority, according to the normal timing rules. - Resolving spells or abilities may simply include an instruction to cast a card or a copy of a card. The card or copy of a card goes through the steps of announcing a spell or ability, just like a spell that's cast when a player has priority. The timing restrictions associated with casting a spell using priority do not apply in this situation. The card Panoptic Mirror is a good example of this type of ability: Panoptic Mirror {5} Artifact / Imprint - {X}, {T}: You may exile an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost X from your hand. / At the beginning of your upkeep, you may copy a card exiled with Panoptic Mirror. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost. Finally, note the difference between copying a card and then casting the copy, and copying a spell that's already been cast. In the former, the card is in a zone other than the stack; the copy gets made in the same zone, then moves to the stack when it's cast, and goes through the process of casting a spell or ability. In the latter, the copy arrives fully-formed on the stack as a duplicate of something that's already been cast, and doesn't go through the process of casting a spell again. The former will trigger abilities that trigger when spells are cast, but not those that trigger when cards are played. The latter triggers neither.
Subject: 1.2: Newsgroup Stuff 1.2.01: Posting: ------ When posting a question to the newsgroup, there are some simple guidelines to ensure that your question is well-understood and receives a prompt reply: - Make the subject line of your post indicate the cards or rules that you're having issues with. - In the body of your article, state those cards or rules again, and explain the play situation that you're asking about. The more relevant information, the more accurate a reply you'll get. - If the question concerns older or less commonly used cards, it may be helpful to include text from Oracle with the post, to remind people of the exact wording of the cards. Append them to the end of the post unless they're small enough to flow with the rest of the text. - Is your question relevant to constructed tournaments? Draft? Sealed? Is it just about casual games between yourself and your best friend? Is it about multiplayer games at your local shop? The more context, the better the answer might be. - Did you look elsewhere to try to answer the question yourself? If so, let us know - if nothing else, it can help to make this FAQ a better resource. - The netrep for the group tries to answer all posts, and will also answer emailed questions. We do not encourage direct email questions, as the question and the answers may be useful to all of the readers of the group. However, if you do decide to email a question directly, please don't also post the same question to the newsgroup. - Don't worry if your post doesn't appear straight away, or if no answers show up immediately. It takes time for things to propagate between computers with usenet, so be patient - every single question gets an answer (usually several answers) and usually within an hour. - Don't worry if there are many similar answers. We encourage posters to have a go at answering questions to practice their rules knowledge, provide alternative viewpoints and provide coverage in case posts from some servers don't make it all the way across usenet. 1.2.02: Terminology: ------ If you're a new player, you'll almost certainly come across unfamiliar terms and acronyms while reading this FAQ, or the magic.rules newsgroup... so here are some of the most common ones. - Cardset Names: In the midst of newsgroup discussion, there is a tendency to abbreviate commonly-occurring names. The different cardsets are often given two- letter abbreviations; since around Champions of Kamigawa everyone has standardised on three-letter abbreviations. For the most part, these abbreviations will be obvious, e.g. '5E' for Fifth Edition or 'MN' for Mirrodin. However, there are some abbreviations that could be confusing: - Unlimited Edition: UL or UN - Urza's Legacy: UL or UY - Unglued: UN - Legends: LG or LE - Legions: LG or LE - Revised Edition (Third Edition): RV or 3E - Ravnica: City of Guilds: RV For these sets in particular, it can be helpful to write the name out in full rather than abbreviating. - Card Names: Cards are often abbreviated in discussion, using just initial letters. For example, a Circle of Protection: Red is referred to as CoP:Red, or Mother of Runes as MoR (or often, just 'mom'). Individual groups will also have their own slang names for cards, some of which may simply defy explanation - it's usually clear what's meant. - Miscellaneous terms and acronyms: "~": Commonly used to stand for the cardname, when quoting card text MtG: Magic The Gathering WotC: Wizards Of The Coast, publishers of Magic DCI: The authority that oversees organised play Modo: Magic Online Digital Objects, the name of the system that runs the online version of the Magic: the Gathering game
Subject: 1.3: Further Reading So, what happens if your question isn't frequently asked, and isn't in this document? Well, here are a few other places you could turn to. Obviously enough, asking your question on the newsgroup rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules is a good way to get it answered. That's what it's there for, after all. Don't worry about whether your question's basic, or has been asked before, or even if it's a frequently asked one in this FAQ, that you've been unable to find or haven't understood the answer to. The group is extremely newbie friendly, and the people there are very patient about explaining things. After all, that's why they hang out there. The detailed rules of the game have changed a lot since it first came out, so it's helpful to get up-to-date information about the rules and the wording on the cards. The exact wording can often make the difference when trying to work out how a card works, and this is found by using the Oracle. The Oracle lists the card text for every card in the game, in such a way as the cards will all work together under the current rules. It's only officially available through the Gatherer interface at <http://gatherer.wizards.com/>. The official rulebook is located at <http://www.wizards.com/magic/TCG/Resources.aspx?x=magic/rules>. It's written in a very technical language to ensure that every card and every game situation is catered for in a logical and consistent manner. As a result, it's not a recommended resource for learning how to play. A much friendlier version is available at <http://www.wizards.com/magic/rules/EN_MTGM11_Rulebook_LR_Web.pdf>. However, by far the most enjoyable way to learn the game is to learn from another player. Try your local games store, comic store or University gaming society - most players will be willing to teach the basics to a newcomer. An additional source of rules information is Yawgatog's Magic Resources <http://www.yawgatog.com/resources/>, and an older archive of information is available at <http://www.crystalkeep.com/magic/index.php>. The rules that govern the mechanics of the game are only part of the whole story. If you intend to play Magic: the Gathering in tournaments, then you will need to read about the DCI and the floor rules. The DCI is the organisation responsible for organised Magic tournaments; information about the DCI rules is located at <http://www.wizards.com/wpn/Events/Rules.aspx?category=all>. You may even be interested in locating a judge for an event, or finding out more about the process of becoming a judge - for this, see <http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=judge/welcome>.

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA




Part1 - Part2 - Part3 - Part4 - Part5 - Part6 - MultiPage

[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index ]

Send corrections/additions to the FAQ Maintainer:
mtgfaq@daeghnao.com (Zoe Stephenson)





Last Update March 27 2014 @ 02:11 PM