Search the FAQ Archives

3 - A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M
N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
faqs.org - Internet FAQ Archives

alt.punk.straight-edge sXe FAQ
Section - 3-7. Do I have to be vegan/vegetarian to be straight-edge?

( Single Page )
[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index | Houses ]


Top Document: alt.punk.straight-edge sXe FAQ
Previous Document: 3-6. Is straight-edge about politics?
Next Document: 3-8. Can I take medications if I'm straight-edge?
See reader questions & answers on this topic! - Help others by sharing your knowledge
    On 23 Jul 1997 Andy Dempz <adempz@umich!edu> wrote:
    "vegetarianism is not part of sxe, only a natural progression."

    Veganism has little to do with sXe pure life ideals. People generally 
    aren't addicted to animal products. But it seems logical to look at
    everything you put into your body once you start examining external 
    factors, and so many sXe folk logically choose to adopt a vegan life. 
    [2]

    The following definitions are from the rec.food.veg FREQUENTLY ASKED 
    QUESTIONS LIST (FAQ):
    The term 'Vegetarian' was coined in 1847. It was first formally used
    on September 30th of that year by Joseph Brotherton and others, at
    Northwood Villa in Kent, England. The occasion being the innaugural
    meeting of the Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom.

    The word was derived from the Latin 'vegetus', meaning whole, sound,
    fresh, lively; (it should not be confused with 'vegetable-arian' - a
    mythical human whom some imagine subsisting entirely on vegetables
    but no nuts, fruits, grains etc!)

    The original definition of 'vegetarian' was "with or without eggs or
    dairy products" and that definition is still used by the Vegetarian
    Society today.

    A vegan excludes animal flesh (meat, poultry, fish and seafood),
    animal products (eggs and dairy), and usually excludes honey and the
    wearing and use of animal products (leather, silk, wool, lanolin,
    gelatin...). The major vegan societies all disallow honey, but some
    "vegans" still use it. Some "vegans" also refuse to eat yeast
    products.

    The word was invented by the UK Vegan society in the 1940's. They
    pronounced it "vee-gn". [14]

User Contributions:

Comment about this article, ask questions, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA




Top Document: alt.punk.straight-edge sXe FAQ
Previous Document: 3-6. Is straight-edge about politics?
Next Document: 3-8. Can I take medications if I'm straight-edge?

Single Page

[ Usenet FAQs | Web FAQs | Documents | RFC Index ]

Send corrections/additions to the FAQ Maintainer:
xjusticex@geocities.com (Lars Norved)





Last Update March 27 2014 @ 02:11 PM