4.2. Log file logging levels

There are several possible logging levels that you can choose to be collected in /var/log/evmsEngine.log. The "lowest" logging level, critical, collects only messages about serious system problems, whereas the "highest" level, everything, collects all logging related messages. When you specify a particular logging level, the Engine collects messages for that level and all the levels below it.

The following table lists the allowable log levels and the information they provide:

Table 4-1. EVMS logging levels

Level nameDescription
CriticalThe health of the system or the Engine is in jeopardy; for example, an operation has failed because there is not enough memory.
SeriousAn operation did not succeed.
ErrorThe user has caused an error. The error messages are provided to help the user correct the problem.
WarningAn error has occurred that the system might or might not be able to work around.
DefaultAn error has occurred that the system has already worked around.
DetailsDetailed information about the system.
DebugInformation that helps the user debug a problem.
ExtraMore information that helps the user debug a problem than the "Debug" level provides.
Entry_ExitTraces the entries and exits of functions.
EverythingVerbose output.